Franklin/Ripley County Traffic Safety Partnership conducting school bus safety patrols

first_imgFranklin/Ripley Counties, IN — The Franklin/Ripley County Traffic Safety Partnership, which consists of the Franklin County Sheriff’s Department, the Batesville Police Department, and the Brookville Police Department will be working to safeguard students as they get on and off the bus this fall. Over the next couple of months, officers will be positioned at bus stops and routes looking for stop-arm violations and motorists driving dangerously.The overtime patrols are part of the state’s Stop Arm Violation Enforcement (SAVE) program, which was developed by the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute last year, and is funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. As part of the effort, officers will work with local school corporations and bus drivers to identify problem areas where the highest number of violations occur.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *